Freddie


Summer 2004, sitting in my living room searching for a song or two, I was listening to random songs to past the time. Summer in India can get pretty hot, especially in May-June. A well chosen stream of songs hitting your eardrums loudly and lazily lying around doing nothing else, can get you through the heat. I was waiting for the result of an entrance exam and was very tentative to say the least. A month of vacation before going to college, nothing more depressing can happen to you in that age, well depending on how well you did in the exam.

Stage was set for my ‘search and destroy’ mission. Goal was to remove all the unwanted songs and find new ones. TV was playing some random MTV songs – some in Hindi and some in English. Yes, MTV in India is weird, as weird as or more so than in US counterpart. The song which caught my attention was Queen’s I want to break free’

 

I still remember how dumbstruck I was after watching that video. Well, another annoying habit of these music channels is that they often don’t play the whole song. That video is crazy to start with. And that song was stuck in my head instantly. It took me a while to find the name of the song. In fact, 6 days to be exact. I haven’t wasted my time listening to one song for that many times before or after that. Since then, I have been a huge admirer of Queen and especially, Freddie. His story is one of the most inspiring stories ever. His songs have given countless no of hours of sheer joy to millions across the world, including me.

A linear algebra teacher told my class last year, about him attending the Queen concert at Wembley. According to him, “Craziest ever! and not just in West London!! “. Here is one example of his stage presence.

Damn, He had a Voice! Not sure why the taste in music changes or how in many ways it still remains same, but his songs will surely be in my ‘Go To’ list of songs …..  In all of his songs and live performances, he was unapologetically, Freddie !

freddie1

Couretesy of freddiemercury.com/

Leave a Reply

